Description Qty Item Price  
your basket is empty

sub total£0.00  
£ $
proceed to checkout

The National Academy of Sciences honors 15 for major contributions to science

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has selected 15 individuals to receive awards honoring their outstanding scientific achievements. The awards will be presented on April 23 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., during the Academy's 143rd annual meeting.

GIBBS BROTHERS MEDAL– a medal and prize of $20,000 awarded every three years for outstanding contributions in the field of naval architecture and marine engineering – goes to DONALD LIU, retired executive vice president and chief technology officer, American Bureau of Shipping, Houston. Liu was chosen "for first introducing finite element techniques into ship design and being the driving force behind the revolution in basing classification society rules on scientific principles." The medal was established by a bequest from William Francis Gibbs and his brother, Frederic H. Gibbs, and has been presented since 1965.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Since 1863, the National Academy of Sciences has served to "investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art" whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government.


Date: January 20, 2006