This Website is not fully compatible with Internet Explorer.
For a more complete and secure browsing experience please consider using Microsoft Edge, Firefox, or Chrome

The OSU Simulation Innovation Center – A Unique Applied Research Center

Due to circumstances beyond our control, we will be rescheduling this webinar for a later date to be confirmed soon.

Academia & Industry Collaboration: Preparing Students for Careers in Engineering Simulation

 

The OSU Simulation Innovation Center – A Unique Applied Research Center (postponed)

January 19th, 2022

8:00am PST | 11:00am EST | 4:00pm GMT | 5:00pm CET

 

Due to circumstances beyond our control, we will be rescheduling this webinar for a later date to be confirmed soon.

Shawn Midlam-Mohler (Ohio State University) and Allen Sheldon (Honda Development and Manufacturing of America, LLC) will discuss their on-going collaboration in modeling and simulation research that began seven years ago with the formation of OSU’s Simulation Innovation and Modeling Center, or SIMCenter. SIMCenter focuses on a wide range of simulation disciplines and covers both virtual product development as well as manufacturing. The center has focused on three primary initiatives:

  • Developing innovative modeling and simulation methods for use in applied industry processes.
  • Education of undergraduate and graduate students through research opportunities and internships.
  • Professional development of practicing engineers in modeling and simulation.

This panel will discuss the history of the collaboration, its successes and challenges, and the vision for the future.

Agenda

  • Welcome & Introduction:
    • Mr. Andrew Wood, NAFEMS Regional Manager, Americas
  • Preparing the Next Generation of M&S Engineers for Industry
    • Dr. Shawn Midlam-Mohler, Professor of Practice Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Director of SIMCenter, Center for Automotive Research Fellow, Ohio State University
  • Industry Benefits from Close Engagement with Academia
    • Mr. Allen Sheldon, Chief Engineer, Automotive Development Center, Honda Development and Manufacturing of America, LLC
  • Q&A
  • Close