This Website is not fully compatible with Internet Explorer.
For a more complete and secure browsing experience please consider using Microsoft Edge, Firefox, or Chrome

Why the Full Potential of CAE is Still Not Used

Why the Full Potential of CAE is Still Not Used (in the Automotive Industry)

and How Future Trends will Improve the Situation

Wednesday 30th November 2022

3pm GMT (London) | 4pm CET (Paris)
7 am PST (Los Angeles) | 10 am EDT (New York)

Register Here


For more than 40 years, CAE has been successfully used as a tool in the development process of vehicles. With massive progress in processor performance, numerical methods, visualization, modeling technics, machine learning, etc., CAE has become an extremely powerful tool playing an increasingly significant role in the development process to improve productivity and competitiveness.

But, we are still not using the full potential of CAE. Reasons include a lack of acceptance by management, poor process integration, missing input data, and many more. Despite increasing complexity, development time has been cut back, in particular with new OEMs.

With electrification of the powertrain and improving tools for virtual development, the barriers for new players to enter the automotive market have been reduced. New players have "digital thinking“ with the goal to be as fast and efficient as possible, while legacy automakers are forced to cut costs to reduce complexity and to increase productivity.

The automotive industry faces not only the challenge to fulfill CO2 standards but also to develop semi autonomous or even autonomous vehicles. We have with ADAS, a functionality which can - for the first time in automotive history - only be developed by using numerical tools.

Increasing development speed, combined with technical challenges are influencing CAE and will, along with other factors, significantly strengthen the importance of numerical simulation for the automotive industry in the near future.

 

 

This webinar is available for free to the engineering analysis community, as part of NAFEMS' efforts to bring the community together online.

About our speaker:

 

 

Christoph Gümbel is widely regarded as one of the leading minds in digital prototyping and applied simulation methods for design and functional verification in the vehicle development process. He spent over 30 years with Porsche, starting off as software engineer, and progressing to the role of Head of CAE, then director of the Virtual Vehicle. He is now a consultant for the virtual development process, and partner at ‘future matters’, one of Europe’s leading future research institutes.