Optimisation Community

Optimisation Community

The Optimisation Working Group has formed an online Community to help disseminate best practice and encourage the adoption of optimisation methods and technology.

The Optimisation Community is only accessible to NAFEMS members and no significant knowledge or expertise is required to participate. The only requirement is a desire to learn more and to interact with other engineers and scientists who have an interest in expanding their capabilities in the optimisation technical area.

Join the Optimisation Community

By joining the Optimisation Community you will be notified about relevant upcoming Optimisation Community activities. If you are a NAFEMS member and you would like to join this Community, please click the button below (login required).

Join the Optimisation Community

 

Upcoming Optimisation Community Events

**Click the title link to register for an event**

Date

Time

Title

Presenter

29th September 2020

16:00 UK | 17:00 Central Europe

08:00 Pacific US | 11:00 Eastern US

Introduction to Surrogate Modelling and Surrogate-Based Optimization

Dr Ivo Couckuyt, Ghent University

Previous Optimisation Community Events

Date
Title
Presenter
Resources
25th August 2020

Reliability Analysis for Expensive Computer Models

Dr Peter Hristov, University of Liverpool

Presentation

Recording

7th July 2020

AI for Anomaly Detection

Kiran Krishnamurthy, AI Labs UK

Presentation

Recording

19th March 2020

Human-Inspired Generative Design

Dr Richard Ahlfeld, Monolith AI

Presentation

Recording

Q&A Responses

3rd December 2019

Enabling large-scale MDO through adjoint sensitivity analysis

Professor Joaquim Martins, University of Michigan

Presentation

Recording

26th March 2019

The UMRIDA Project (Uncertainty Management for Robust Industrial Design in Aeronautics) Project summary, results, and future challenges

Dr Dirk Wunsch, NUMECA International

Presentation

Recording

19th April 2018

Customized Optimization for Practical Problem Solving

Professor Kalyanmoy Deb, Michigan State University

Presentation

Recording

4th December 2017

Recent Progress on MOEA/D

Professor Qingfu Zhang, City University of Hong Kong

Presentation

Recording

25th October 2017

The use of optimization tools to support design improvement decisions

Professor Andy Keane, University of Southampton

Presentation

Recording

4th September 2017

The Impact of Uncertainty Quantification in Optimization: Towards Robust Design Optimization

Professor Charles Hirsch & Dr Dirk Wunsch, NUMECA International

Presentation

Recording

24th April 2017

Turbomachinery Active Subspace Performance Map

Dr Pranay Seshadri, University of Cambridge

Presentation

Recording